And He’s Back!

No I didn’t fall off a mountain, get buried by a landslide or die in a plane crash.  Actually the most commonly guessed explanation for my absence was that I was arrested and locked up in a Nepalese prison, alas even that didn’t happen.  Instead I was suffering from the rather mundane problem of a malfunctioning computer combined with a relatively high level of isolation as I returned to the Himalayas for another dose of intense trekking.

Isolation isn’t always a bad thing.

That’s all in the past now and you can expect to find regular posts as I’ve returned to the relative safety and comfort of

This may look like a national park, but in Nepal they call it a road.

Europe with all its conveniences and comforts.  That may sound like one of those trite vacation comments someone makes when they get back home from a week abroad, but I really will never take a clean glass of water for granted again.  I’m actually tempted to kiss every toilet I see out of gratitude for their existence (don’t worry, not that tempted).  Not only that but I have a new appreciation for why building roads was a major accomplishment for the Romans.  I always thought that was something teachers told you about Romans because they couldn’t think of anything cool to say, but after a full day on a dusty bus on something only remotely related to a road I have a new and profound respect for roads.

That’s not to say I didn’t have an amazing time, or that Nepal doesn’t have a lot of amazing things to offer, it does.  Nor do I plan on dismissing all those things in one or two sentences.  I have the rest of my posts on the trek to Everest base camp to put up and plenty of other interesting things to share with all of you over the next few weeks.  I plan to do all this sharing as I spend some time in my newly appreciated luxury and allow my still ailing stomach its slow recuperation.

It won’t be too realxing though, because after this brief pause I begin a series of trips around Europe that will take me through a half-a-dozen countries in less than a month.  I’ll be in Austria, France, Greece… wait, I’m getting ahead of myself.  For now just sit back and relax as I unfold the rest of the Everest story.  Just keep it in the back of you mind that there will be plenty more exciting things to come even after the Nepal stories end.  Ok, enough chit-chat, it’s time for me to get writing.  I hope all of you have been enjoying your spring and are planning some amazing things for this summer!

I’m glad I wasn’t stuck in a Nepally prison. I’d have missed some good views.

Categories: General, Nepal | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “And He’s Back!

  1. I have to admit, you in a Nepalese prison did cross my mind.

  2. Glad you’re back…your posts were missed 🙂 Amazing pics as usual and I must say the isolation sounds amazing! Look forward to reading more soon.

  3. I am so glad to hear you dear Giazon, seems that it didn’t go well, to be in prison not good. Why did you take in, and how you left them… Nepal is not an easy place I guess… I loved your photographs, Thank you, have a nice and enjoyable time now in your own land, love, nia

  4. Who are again? Hehe Welcome back. Amazing photos and adventure stories awaits for us.

  5. Anonymous

    I can’t believe you were not ever in a Nepalese jail. Spill it, J. Spill it.

  6. Welcome back to what passes for civilization. I just discovered this site a couple of days ago and look forward to reading about your adventures.

    • Happy to have you reading! I’ll be nervous now that I know I have an accomplished author in the audience!

  7. H

    It didn’t help that your absence coincided with a spate of deaths at Everest. Do you know how depressing it is to scan reports for the name of someone you know? Glad you’re ok!
    What an incredible adventure and as always, stunning photos.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

