Thank You

I wanted to take a little break from my normal writing today to say thank you to everyone who is reading this.  I can’t see individual names, but I can see how many people are coming to my website.  The number of people reading has slowly, but steadily increased over time, and without that encouragement there is no way I could keep this blog going.  It takes a surprising amount of time to write and take the photos you see here and the isolation of traveling makes it easy to feel disconnected from others.  Knowing you all are out there reading is what gives me the strength to put this all together.

Next I wanted to thank everyone who has donated to my Ironman.  I have received a great amount of support without which I wouldn’t be able to do what I’m doing.  It’s not only amazing financial support I’ve received either.  I’ve been given great places to stay, wonderful equipment (I’m not even riding my own bike!) and fed delicious food.  I won’t bore you with the list of expenses, but even not counting the cost of living as I prepare for the race, the associated expenses of equipment, registration and travel are around $2,000.  This, combined with my living expenses, is much more than I could come up with on my own and without all of you, I’d be lost already.

I also want to thank everyone who has emailed or posted comments here for that encouragement.  It may not sound it, but wandering the world can be lonely at times.  Even the most beautiful place on Earth can feel empty when you’re away from your friends. The emails, Facebook comments and blog comments all help me immeasurably.

In short, I’ve received more support already than many people get in a lifetime, still for those of you interested in helping more, these next couple of months will be particularly difficult for me. As race date approaches my training hours continue to go up.  Also, in all honesty, I’m broke.  Work hasn’t been as easy to come by here as I hoped, but I’ll eat from a garbage can before I give up.  That said I’d rather not have to, so for those of you who haven’t given already, donations are much appreciated and quite needed!  (To Donate Click HERE) For those who aren’t into donating, I do sell prints of all the photography you see here, plus a good deal more.  Aside from purchasing a great decoration or gift, you’d be allowing me to keep this website going. Finally, I know not everyone has money to spare, if that’s your situation, emails and comments really do make a difference.  Not everyone sees what I’m doing as a life well spent, and a little encouragement can make the difference between an exhilarating training session and one that feels like torture.

I hope everyone is enjoying their summer and finding a little time for adventure of their own!

Menorcan sunsets.... another thing to be thankful for.

Categories: General, Ironman | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

