Reflections of Paris

I’ve been trying to push my way through a couple of new posts, but alas I seem to have lost some of my mojo during the long break.  So rather then fade away completely for a few more weeks, I thought I’d simply share the first fruits of my photographic efforts here in Paris.  This photo was inspired by all the incredible, monumental architecture of the city.

Even though I can’t see it, I still feel Paris in the photo.

As no doubt some of you will observe, there are no monuments in the photo.  The thing is that I’ve noticed an inordinate number of tourist laden down with heavy (and expensive) camera gear.  They walk around taking hundreds of photos in their little groups, photos that have been taken a thousand times before and using far better equipment than what I have.  I thought I’d rather not start my trip with my own collection of standard Paris imagery and the inspiration from the cool autumn rain resulted in these photos.

Reflections 2

Who knew how beautiful a sidewalk could be?

I’m reminded yet again of how much beauty is hidden in the world and… No, it’s too soon.  Poetic writing is still on my horizon.  Hopefully these images can speak for me.

But Paris was a very old city and we were young and nothing was simple there, 
not even poverty, nor sudden money, nor the moonlight,nor right and wrong
nor the breathing of someone who lay beside you in the moonlight.

― Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

Categories: France, Photography | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Reflections of Paris

  1. travelscapism

    Great idea, and love the pictures. Also love Paris 🙂

  2. Liana

    love these…lots

  3. One of my favorite quotes. Nice pic.

  4. Beautiful watercolors

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

