Lesser Known Europe – The Baltics

Even before I started out on my life as a nomad I didn’t watch much television.  Still, when a friend of mine recommended I watch the new show “Vikings”, a surprise hit for the History Channel, I couldn’t resist the chance to get some free entertainment that I could pass off as education.  I was even more delighted when the first scene of the first episode featured mass carnage in what it described as the Eastern Baltic, the part of Europe I’m exploring now.

Far from the busy streets of Paris...

Few signs of the past Viking carnage…

The Baltics have come a long way in the last thousand years, but the region – now made up of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania – is still largely unknown to the rest of the world.  I’ve been lucky enough to explore these out of the way countries lately and after a winter that lasts six months, it’s an exciting time as spring is finally making an appearance.

In fact, for those of you living farther away from the Earth’s poles – and that should be just about all of you (except my lovely Scandinavian readers) – it’s hard to appreciate just how shocking the shift from four-hour days full of frozen darkness to 20-hour days full of warm sunshine truly is.  Actually if there is one thing that seems to unify this region, aside from strong feelings about the former soviet occupation, it’s the powerful presence of the seasons.

Here comes the spring...

Here comes the spring…

A very different sort of traveler.

A very different sort of traveler.

With populations roughly equivalent to the Bronx, Queens and Brooklyn, it’s not too surprising that the area isn’t particularly well known.  After all you’re more likely to meet someone from New York than all three of these countries put together or, to put it another way, for each Estonian on Earth you have roughly one thousand people form China.  That makes this region among the most exotic places in Europe and a perfect out of the way place for me to explore.

When winter lasts six months, flowers take on special meaning.

When winter lasts six months, flowers take on special meaning.

Despite the region’s relatively small population, it benefits from an amazing diversity, both linguistic and cultural.  Estonia is one of four non-Indo-European languages in Europe (for the curious the others are Finnish, Hungarian and Basque) and Latvian and Lithuanian are the closest existing relatives to Sanskrit, the ancient, holy language of India.  With a fascinating influx of Scandinavian, Germanic and Slavic culture mixed into the existing local culture, the area has plenty to offer.  All that and the region remains largely unspoiled by the flocks of tourists that frequent much of the rest of Europe.

This diversity means that each country will need a post of its own, but as most people lump the three countries together, probably because they all regained their independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, I thought I’d give everyone a chance to hop on Wikipedia and see where I am before I dived into the details.  In fact, as is so often the case, I won’t be handing out to much general information about the area, rather just a small peak at some of the strange and beautiful things that I’ve enjoyed.

Come explore with me...

Come explore with me…

“To move, to breathe, to fly, to float,
To gain all while you give,
To roam the roads of lands remote,
To travel is to live.”
― Hans Christian Andersen

Categories: An Out of The Way Place, Photography | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Lesser Known Europe – The Baltics

  1. MC

    I’m an Estonian and can’t wait to read your story about it 🙂

  2. I once received a postcard from Riga from a friend traveling there, and that was my first “encounter” with the Baltic States. A few years later, I found the chance to go to Riga myself (which would be last year), during the coldest weekend of the year, and it was certainly one of the more exotic places I’ve been to. Looking forward to your posts! 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

