Your Out of the Way Places – Naritasan Temple

“You’re so lucky you can just travel around the world!”  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard that.  While I’m not going to argue about my luck (I think I was assigned extra guardian angels at birth), my travels aren’t the result of incredible luck.  Of course that’s easy for me to say, so rather than using myself as an example; let’s take a look at this week’s reader photo:

This is just a small part of the huge complex of buildings which, despite having room for thousands of people, had only a handful of visitors the day they were there.

This is just a small part of the huge complex of buildings which, despite having room for thousands of people, had only a handful of visitors the day they were there.

This is the Naritasan Shinsoji Buddhist temple in Japan.  This great shot of it was captured by Heather, a regular reader here, who was visiting the beautiful temple complex with her daughter over their last summer vacation.  Visiting Japan is a pretty impressive summer trip for anyone, but seems like it must be the trip of a lifetime for a single mother like Heather who lives off a modest teacher’s salary.

Not by a long-shot.  Despite a modest income and lots of responsibilities, Heather travels regularly with her daughter.  In fact, anytime I catch up with her she’s talking about their next destination.  Next summer they’re off to visit Iceland, Norway and the Netherlands (and hopefully we’ll be seeing those pictures too!).  No rich relatives, winning lottery tickets or other luck required – just a will see the world (and better self-discipline than I can imagine).

The only untouched woods in all of Tokyo. - photo by Heather Harrington

The only untouched woods in all of Tokyo. – photo by Heather Harrington

I know it’s easy to find reasons why traveling is hard or this isn’t the time, but… actually forget it, I’m not going to try to explain.  Heather’s actions speak louder than my words.

Be sure to send in your own photos of Out of the Way Places! We want to hear from you! 

Categories: An Out of The Way Place, Reader Photos, Travel | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Your Out of the Way Places – Naritasan Temple

  1. And this is nothing new; Heather has been committed to travel for as long as I’ve known her. When I moved to Wales in 1997, she found a way to spend a week with me, even though I am pretty sure it meant selling off some personal belongings of great sentimental value. But she shares the belief that experiences are far more valuable than objects, and I applaud her and encourage others to live in the same way.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

