River of Rock

As no doubt some of you have noticed my normal domain – anoutofthewayplace.com – is currently out-of-order.  This seems to have been caused by some problems behind the scenes on WordPress’s end and has left me in a state of near hysteria the last few days.  While I try to figure things out with the folks over at the WordPress help center, I didn’t want anyone thinking I’d retired from writing.  So for now just come and visit me at my old domain: anoutofthewayplace.wordpress.com.

That nasty bit of business out of the way I wanted to share memories of happier days with this photo I captured last spring in Nepal.  This stunning location is the result of countless millennia of glacial work.  The huge glaciers that once covered this whole area (and which are rapidly disappearing) slowly ground the rocks beneath them into small pieces.   As they melted away they left behind this vast – and only having been there can you truly grasp the scale – river of rock the extends for miles.

I'm sure they have bigger challenges than broken URLs.

I’m sure they have bigger challenges than broken URLs.

Aside from its innate beauty, the location reminds me of just how tenacious human beings are when it comes to life.  Here in this remote barren wilderness, chance had pieced together one small piece of fertile soil.  It didn’t go unnoticed and the rugged Nepali people have put it to good use.  With nothing but hand tools and patience they carved themselves a home on the rocky valley floor.  Finally, when I think about the challenges that life here poses my broken URL starts to seem pretty small indeed.

Categories: An Out of The Way Place, Nepal, Photography, Travel | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

