Details of Burano

Next up: a screenplay.  Unlike most of my recent adventures, my current challenge involves sitting in one place for the better part of a month.  I’ve agreed to write a screenplay for a director I know and the time to delivery is a scant one month.  That means long nights of staring at my little screen with beady, red eyes.

Green and Purple

Fortunately I have accumulated quite a back log of places to write about so I can still share some beautiful out of the way places I’ve been to recently.  Take Burano for instance.  Burano is one of the other islands in the Venetian Lagoon.  Although the vast majority of visitors to Venice never stray far from the main square, those who venture off the main path know that Burano is famous for its brightly colored houses and lacework.

Blue and Blue

After my last post, it seems only appropriate to share this series of photos which are nothing more than pictures of a few of the windows I walked by on a recent sunny day.  Each house on the island is painted a different color from it’s neighbor, giving the whole island the feel of a fairy-tale.   Canals complete the picture and when the sun shines, every detail seems to be its own work of art.

Blue and Yellow

Ok, time for me to leave that sunny island and return to my other writing project.  I’d love to hear what everyone else is up to so share what is new for you this autumn in the comments.  Ciao ciao!

Categories: An Out of The Way Place, Italy, Photography, Travel | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Details of Burano

  1. Renard Moreau

    [ Smiles ] I LOVE the colour scheme.

    • Thanks Renard! I actually have quite a few more from that day, but think the photos would work better in a gallery than they do on blog. Stop by again sometime and maybe I’ll have some more up 😉

  2. Liana

    totally can relate to the bleary-eyed screen machine one becomes when writing-for-hire…am on the last chapter of a book I’m ghostwriting for a client right now and feeling guity that I’m even taking a brain-break to read your blog. good luck (I say to you and me both)…

    • Ghost writing! That sounds even more brutal. I’m not sure I could do what I do without at the least the recognition. I’d be curious to hear more about what that’s like…

      • Liana

        I hit SEND yesterday on a first draft of the last chapter and that was like YESSSSSSSSSSSS!

  3. I nominated you for the One Lovely Blogger Award! For more details: http://thehesoproject.wordpress.com/2012/10/26/lovely-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

