A Past Trip

When I parted ways with career, money and home a few years back, I already had a love of travel.  That means I have a huge backlog of photos and stories that have never made it up to this blog, but that I’d love to share with you.  Take this photo for instance:

To think they didn’t even have power tools…

I captured this shot on one of my many trips to Rome, one of my favorite cities.  This is the ceiling of St. Peter’s Basilica, truly one of the most magnificent places in the world.  It is so incredible that despite being in the same city as the Colosseum, the

Think your tax money is being used better?

Pantheon and countless other wonders, I still try to visit it every time I’m in Rome.

Strangely enough, I’ve talked to lots of people who’ve visited Rome, but never seen it.  I mention this only because when I ask people if they have visited this or that cathedral the often respond that they’re not Catholic or they hate going to church.  This simply blows my mind.

St. Peter’s alone has works by Michelangelo, Raphael, Bernini and countless other artists.  You can see all these works without paying a dime or you can wait in line at a famous museum and pay a small fortune to see something less impressive.

I understand the many sensitive issues involving religion.  After all it was funding this very building that led to some seriously shadey practices by the Catholic church and caused Martin Luther to start the reformation.  That said I’m not a Pharoah any more than I’m a Catholic, but do you think I’d pass up visiting the pyramids because you I don’t believe in mummification or using slaves to drag 70 ton blocks of stone?

If you like the photo, you should see it in person.

Categories: Italy, Photography, Travel | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Past Trip

  1. Anonymous

    Nice ones, giazon! Very filmic …

  2. Nice photos. I agree that churches are a wonderful way to see paintings by famous artists without the lines or museum fees. A small donation in the collection box helps to keep the church open and maintained, and it’s a bargain!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

