Bucket List Revealed

As I write this I’m experiencing yet another extraordinary experience: rain in the desert.  Most places, people get excited when the weather heats up and the sun shines, here it’s a newsworthy event when the rain starts to fall and the cold weather rolls in.  Tomorrow we’re expecting a near artic 74 degrees (19 Celsius).  I know that doesn’t sound too chilly, but compared to the 104 degrees (40 C) that greeted me upon arrival just a couple days ago, it’s pretty chilly.

In any case all this strange weather is perfect for writing since Phoenix drivers seem to think driving in rain is the same as driving in a blizzard.  As for what to write about, well I’ve owed you all a bucket list for some time.  So without further ado, here’s my list!

 

1.       To go to Nepal and climb to the base camp of Mt. Everest

2.       To go to Greenland and sea kayak along the fjords

3.       To go to New Zealand and backpack around the country

4.       To go to Greece and sail around the Mediterranean Sea

5.       To go to Japan and hike the 80 temple tour

6.       To go to China and walk the Great Wall

7.       To go to Tanzania and climb Mt. Kilimanjaro

8.       To go to Brazil and celebrate Carnival

9.       To go to Scandinavia, ski and see the northern lights

10.   To go to Russia and ride the trans-Siberian railroad

11.   To go to Egypt and journey down the Nile

12.   To go to Peru and visit Manchu Picchu

13.   To go to Thailand and relax on the beach

14.   To go to Antarctica and see penguins

15.   To go to Easter Island and see the heads

 

So there you have it!  Some of you have sent your own lists these last few weeks, but I’d urge you to repost them in the comments below for the enjoyment of everyone else.  Also, if you have an opinion as to which of these amazing things I should do next, or something I left it out, feel free to opine about that as well!

I've seen more than my fair share of beauty this year, but why stop now?

Categories: General, Travel | Tags: , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Bucket List Revealed

  1. Anonymous

    Nothing that isn’t travel-related?

    • In my original post I said it would be a travel related bucket list! Places and things to do! Of course I have a pile of non-touristy, serious things I’d like to do, but I’ll save those for a separate list.

  2. I’ve done just one on your list :/
    My bucket list is kinda endless anyway, I never really could write one! 🙂

  3. Anonymous

    Gotcha. On my travel list is Timbuktu (I still kick myself for not going when I was in Mali), go back to Turkey, explore the French countryside, Italy, etc. etc.

  4. Anonymous

    Oh, and see more of Egypt.

  5. Have you ever been to Hawaii to see the waterfalls?

  6. I would like to go to Greece and sail around the Mediterranean Sea and I would like to walk part of the Great Wall of China and I would like to go to Egypt and see the Pyramids. I think the Nile would be neat but a little scary! And I’m not into mountain climbing or the cold but it would be nice to see. There are a couple of things I’ve never heard of, like Japan 80 temple tour. So there’s four I have so far.

  7. Anonymous

    Ukraine is not on ur list????????????????????

  8. OK I finally finished my list! It was harder then I thought because I know there are places I am forgetting or don’t know about. Anyway, this is what I have as of now.

    1. Hawaii – to see beaches and waterfalls
    2. Greece – sail and swim in the Mediterranean Sea and see Athens
    3 .China -walk part of the Great Wall
    4. Brazil – see the waterfalls and Rio
    5. Egypt -see the Pyramids and ride a camel
    6. Venice Italy – to take photos and boat ride
    7. India – see the Taj Mahal
    8. Switzerland -take a boat and train ride through the Alps
    9. Tibet -visit the city and see Mount Everest
    !0. Peru -see Manchu Picchu
    11.Australia -snorkel the Great Barrier Reef
    12.Canada -Niagra Falls
    13 America -Grand Cayon
    14.California -Redwood Forest
    15.Seattle, WA. -take train ride along coast, parasail

  9. Pingback: The Next Mountain « An out of the way place…

  10. Looks like a cool list!

  11. Pingback: Chasing Lights « An out of the way place…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

