Menorca, an island less traveled

The Balearic Islands consist of four main islands: Mallorca – the largest and most developed, Ibiza – famous for its non-stop parties, Formentera – a tiny and beautiful island loved by Italians, and Menorca – remote and peaceful.  It is the last of these islands that I have chosen to make my temporary home.

I decided to come to Menorca for a number of reasons.  First, having lived in New York City for so many years, I’ve grown tired of a punitive cost of living.  A cabin without a bathroom or kitchen on Ibiza costs more than a fairly large private apartment in Menorca.  Second, as much as I wish it weren’t true, I’m here to train, not party and I learned a long time ago the best way to resist temptation is to avoid it all together.  Finally, I love to visit lesser known places.  It is far easier to form relationship with locals not swamped with tourists.

These were the reasons I came here, and so far my expectations have not only been met, but exceeded.  My new apartment is the most beautiful I have ever had.  I live upstairs from an older German woman who leaves me sweets on the stairs.  My terrace overlooks the sea, and on clearer days, the view stretches to Mallorca.  My new training partner is a neighbor, who as an experienced marathon runner, kicks my ass.  As if the island were waiting for me, my landlady had an unused guitar waiting to be adopted, and, most unlikely of all, long-term work that appeals to enough to actually consider it recently surfaced. In short, things have been nothing less than perfect since my arrival.

Just another day in paradise...

Like most people I have spent my life living in places based on my family, my work and my education.  To cut lose from these bonds, beautiful as they may be, has been an enlightening experience.  The world is not a uniform place and I believe those free and bold enough to venture out can often find their own little paradise.  Most of my years in New York were spent working, studying and riding the subway, worthwhile and fulfilling for many, but empty and tedious for me.  Now I spend my days reading, writing, training and playing music.  I have picked wild rosemary and run a half-marathon: boring and masochistic for some, perfection for me.

Training for an Ironman is brutal, but the scenery here certainly takes the edge off.

Categories: An Out of The Way Place, Spain, Words | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Menorca, an island less traveled

  1. I hear you, it sounds lovely where you are.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

