Endurance

I have reached the end of my 1,000 mile bike trip from London to Madrid.  The end proved harder than the beginning when I realized I’d dropped my wallet at a hostel in Spain.  With no other option I was forced to race back 25km in the rain to the hostel where I’d left it.  Fortunately I recovered my bank card, but unfortunately someone had helped themselves to the cash.  Feeling rather upset I biked the 25km back to where I’d been, only to get a hole in my tire as I biked along the highway.  It’s experiences like these, and not muscular fatigue, that truly test one’s endurance.

These are some lucky bikes....

Still, some lost money and a flat tire is a small price to pay for such an amazing trip.  The views have been spectacular, the people fascinating and the experience truly priceless.  I expect to stay here in Madrid and rest for a few days before continuing to the Balearic Islands and the south of Spain.  It’s time to get off the bike and do some running and swimming!

Photos are a poor substitute for all the amazing views I've seen.

Categories: Biking, France, Ironman, Journeys | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Endurance

  1. Jaafar El Harouchi

    How is the bike holding up? How are you getting to Ibiza?

  2. Colin Harris

    Yo! Those spots are amazing! Just think…we sloths are still sitting here indoors…not a chance of even getting outdoors for more than an hour at a time. I’d take an extra 25k bike ride in Spain any day!

  3. Some lovely pictures. Enjoy your well-earned rest!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

