France

Today I crossed the Pyrenees mountains into Spain, thus marking the end of my two week bike trip through France.  I thought I’d take moment to reflect upon on all the pleasures France has lavished on me and all the experiences I’ve had thus far.

The clouds hung low upon the mountains today creating a living scenery like a Japanese painting.

First, France is among the most visited countries in the world and for good reason.  I saw castles, palaces, forests, beaches and mountains.  I ate gourmet  bread, pastries, cheese and meats.  I ran on the beach, swam in the ocean and biked over hills.  All that and I’ve barely begun to scratch the surface as to what France has to offer.

Not everything went perfectly.  The northern forests of France were infested with ticks who stuck to me far too intimately.  Mosquito are always a problem and biking 100km a day can be a bit wearisome.  Flat tires are a pain, and trying to lose weight while working out all day is mentally draining.  Still, I’ve come much closer to being prepared for the Ironman, once again found the Camino de Santiago and had an amazing time in the process.

In all honesty there are days I wake up and wonder “what the hell am I doing?” But most days I wake up stronger, healthier and excited for the day to come, so I I figure I must be doing something right.  Tomorrow I will be arriving in Pamplona and continuing my journey through Spain.  I estimate that I am about half way done with my biking, which gives me plenty more distance to cover, but I’m feeling stronger and more excited than ever, so onward!

Even the rainiest days are full of beauty.

Categories: France, Ironman, Journeys, Spain, Travel | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

