Twisty-Ties and Duct Tape

Aside from another painful run, I thought about preparing for my bike trip today, but then I remembered that I never prepare for anything.  So I’m just going to do a solo bike ride from London to Ibiza and not worry about it.

That may sound crazy but only because bikers, or should I say cyclists, enjoy getting all geared up like they’re on the Tour de France or going to make a moon landing.  I remember being in a bike store once and telling them I was going to take a bike trip through New England for a few days (200 miles/ 300k). They asked me what kind of support I’d have.  What?  Like a couple F14’s in case I need an airstrike?

When my friend invited me to bike to Chicago with him, I didn’t decide to go till the night before.  For my gear I used some baskets I’d bought at a flea market and attached them with some twisty ties and duct tape.

I don't normally pack so much, but it was barbecue night.

Now I’m not against some level of preparedness. Lights are great and I never ride without my helmet, but that said, far too many trips are put off or never happen because of a perceived need for more preparation.  In the end we’re a lot stronger than we think and need much less than we imagine.  Believe it.

Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam

I will either find a way or make one

-Hannibal crossing the Alps


Categories: Biking, Travel, Words | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

