A magician reveals his secrets…

No, I don’t sell drugs to children, am not the love child of Donald Trump, not do I have a tiny little genie in my pocket.  Despite that, I travel around for months on end to satisfy my endless curiosity and fuel my so-so blog. This all raises a natural question and the one that everyone asks: how can I afford it?

Now part of me wishes I’d learned the secrets of cold fusion or discovered a chest of pirate’s gold, but now that I think about it, I like the truth even better.  The truth is that I have a super power.  I wasn’t born with it and I wasn’t bitten by a radioactive spider, my superpower is one I developed slowly over time and is simply this: I learned to be happy with less.

Now the details of this mysterious transformation could easily fill a book, but if there’s anything good that a normal, healthy, moral person can learn from a dissolute, crazy guy like me, this is it.  So for that reason, over the course of the next couple of months, I’m going to reveal some of my secrets in the hopes that I can help someone, somewhere.

In each post, I’m going to cover some aspect of life that consumes money, e.g., clothes, travel or food.  By the time we reach the end you’ll see how I’m able to thrive on $1,000 a month and survive on much less.  Even if you don’t want to adopt my Spartan ways, or find some of my tactics a little too homelessesque, I pretty sure something somewhere will be useful and might even allow you to save enough money to take that trip you want before you move into the retirement home.

Categories: Journeys, Words | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A magician reveals his secrets…

  1. Archeus

    Hey Jason – this is becoming quite the blog for anyone interesting in so called “non-conforming” way of life. Wow “homelessnesque” maybe you’ll start a new lifestyle trend for the new century. Keep it up and make it your mission to change the world! It’s getting very interesting.

    — JJ

    “Through travel I first became aware of the outside world; it was through travel that I found my own introspective way into becoming a part of it.”

    – Eudora Welty

    • Thank JJ,

      I hope I’ll have plenty of interesting things to share these coming weeks. The monastery was amazing and now I’m hiking and biking in Germany. More on that soon.

      Don’t forget you’re always welcome to come on over your next vacation 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

